Exeter Chiefs score 27 seconds after kick off in Premiership Final
By Rugby Onslaught

Exeter Chiefs score 27 seconds after kick off in Premiership Final

Why anger them Exeter Chiefs?

Sit back and take your beating like men.


Saracens have named an unchanged starting XV for the Gallagher Premiership final against Exeter Chiefs.

It means captain Brad Barritt will begin the showpiece at Twickenham. The 32-year-old has recovered from the hamstring injury which forced him off in Sarries’ semi-final victory over Gloucester.

Seventeen of the 23 featured in last year’s final. Richard Barrington, Will Skelton and Ben Spencer start this time around while Liam Williams slots in on the wing having missed the triumph through injury.

Spencer and Williams both crossed for the Men in Black in last weekend’s win with winger Sean Maitland, selected on the left once more, also dotting down. The other three tries were scored by the latest club centurion Nick Tompkins who will look to make a similar impact from the bench.

Tom Woolstencroft joins the centre there in the only amendment to the matchday squad meaning prop Ralph Adams-Hale – one of 10 Academy products picked – will cap off a remarkable personal season with an appearance at HQ.

Fellow front rower Christian Judge will make his last outing as Saracens player as will club legend David Strettle.

Director of Rugby Mark McCall said: “We’re hugely grateful to the staff and entire playing group for their commitment throughout the campaign to get us in this position. Everyone has contributed hugely to get us to where we want to be.”

Saracens team to face Exeter Chiefs in the Gallagher Premiership final on Saturday 1st June (KO 15H00):

15 Alex Goode
14 Liam Williams
13 Alex Lozowski
12 Brad Barritt ©
11 Sean Maitland
10 Owen Farrell
9 Ben Spencer

1 Richard Barrington
2 Jamie George
3 Vincent Koch
4 Will Skelton
5 George Kruis
6 Maro Itoje
7 Jackson Wray
8 Billy Vunipola

16 Tom Woolstencroft
17 Ralph Adams-Hale
18 Christian Judge
19 Nick Isiekwe
20 Mike Rhodes
21 Richard Wigglesworth
22 Nick Tompkins
23 David Strettle