Monye names two Springboks as his series MVPs
By Rugby Onslaught

Monye names two Springboks as his series MVPs

Former British & Irish Lions winger Ugo Monye has named his series MVPs in World Rugby’s The Wrap this week, choosing Springboks captain Siya Kolisi and second-row Eben Etzebeth.

Monye praised Kolisi for turning the series around after losing the first Test, in which the flanker himself said that the week between the first Test and the second Test was the hardest week of his professional life. Monye also described Etzebeth as a “man mountain” and “absolute enforcer” in helping guide the Springboks to the series win.

Etzebeth was also named the best Springboks forward by Monye, while Maro Itoje was named the best Lions forward. Those two are arguably the best two locks on the planet currently and had a fascinating battle across the three matches, where they went toe to toe in all areas. Itoje was named the Lions player of the series as they continued their rivalry.

Ali Price was also named the best Lions back, while the centre pairing of Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am both made the best Springboks backs.

Other awards such as surprise package went to Finn Russell for the Lions after his performance from the bench in the third Test, and Morne Steyn for the Springboks, who came on in the final match to break Lion hearts again twelve years after he did to the 2009 Lions.

Take a look at what Monye said: