VIDEO: Romain Poite's accidental offside decision explained

VIDEO: Romain Poite’s accidental offside decision explained

KNOW YOUR LAWS:

According to the World Rugby Law book, Romain Poite had a choice between 11.1, the broad offside rule; 11.6 A, 11.6 B or as he chose 11.7.

11.6

(a)
When an offside player cannot avoid being touched by the ball or by a team-mate carrying it, the player is accidentally offside. If the player’s team gains no advantage from this, play continues. If the player’s team gains an advantage, a scrum is formed with the opposing team throwing in the ball.12
(b)
When a player hands the ball to a team-mate in front of the first player, the receiver is offside. Unless the receiver is considered to be intentionally offside (in which case a penalty kick is awarded), the receiver is accidentally offside and a scrum is formed with the opposing team throwing in the ball.

He opted for 11.7, Offside at a knock on:

When a player knocks-on and an offside team-mate next plays the ball, the offside player is liable to sanction if playing the ball prevented an opponent from gaining an advantage.

Poite deemed that no advantage was gained.

Rugby365: