'Ridiculous decision': Twitter explodes at ref decision as All Blacks win
By Rugby Onslaught

‘Ridiculous decision’: Twitter explodes at ref decision as All Blacks win

Regardless of how the match ended on Thursday between Australia and the All Blacks, it was one of the best Test matches in recent years, but the ending also made it the weirdest.

With the Wallabies leading 37-34 with minutes remaining, the All Blacks won a penalty and kicked to the corner. After the All Blacks set up a driving maul, the Wallabies were able to repel them just five metres from their own line, and eventually won a penalty themselves with just over a minute to go. However, as Wallabies fly-half Bernard Foley waited to take his kick to touch, referee Mathieu Raynal penalised him for time wasting (about 11 seconds after putting time back on), giving a free kick to the All Blacks. They had a midfield scrum and eventually scored in the corner through Jordie Barrett.

It was a wild ending to a wild match, and Twitter has since exploded, with ex players chiming in with their views. Plenty of people have pointed out that it is the letter of the law, but more have pointed out that it has never been enforced before, particularly as such a crucial moment in the match.

Ex Wallaby Adam Ashley-Cooper wrote on Twitter: “Never seen anything like that before.”

Quade Cooper wrote: “Never seen that ever? Wouldn’t you just call time off? Outside of that it’s was such a good game. Pulled over on the side of the road to watch last 15.”

Matt Giteau wrote: “A super contest arguably ruined by that last call.. I can’t believe that. Congrats
All Blacks & Wallabies on an unreal game! Such a cruel ending.

Here are the final five minutes of the match:

Wallabies XV to play New Zealand at Marvel Stadium, Melbourne 
1. James Slipper (c) (121 Tests)
2. David Porecki (5 Tests)
3. Allan Alaalatoa (58 Tests)
4. Jed Holloway (4 Tests)
5. Matt Philip (26 Tests)
6. Rob Leota (12 Tests)
7. Pete Samu (26 Tests)
8. Rob Valetini (25 Tests)
9. Jake Gordon (14 Tests)
10. Bernard Foley (71 Tests)
11. Marika Koroibete (49 Tests)
12. Lalakai Foketi (2 Tests)
13. Len Ikitau (19 Tests)
14. Tom Wright (16 Tests)
15. Andrew Kellaway (16 Tests)

16. Folau Fainga’a (31 Tests)
17. Scott Sio (73 Tests)
18. Pone Fa’amausili (1 Test)
19. Darcy Swain (15 Tests)
20. Fraser McReight (6 Tests)
21. Nic White (54 Tests)
22. Reece Hodge (59 Tests)
23. Jordan Petaia (20 Tests)

All Blacks XV
1. Ethan de Groot (8)
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho (15)
3. Tyrel Lomax (18)
4. Brodie Retallick (96)
5. Samuel Whitelock (138)
6. Scott Barrett (54)
7. Sam Cane © (84)
8. Hoskins Sotutu (10)
9. Aaron Smith (109)
10 .Richie Mo’unga (39)
11. Caleb Clarke (9)
12. David Havili (20)
13. Rieko Ioane (54)
14. Will Jordan (19)
15. Jordie Barrett (43)

16. Dane Coles (83)
17. George Bower (18)
18. Fletcher Newell (3)
19. Akira Ioane (17)
20. Dalton Papali’i (16)
21. Finlay Christie (10)
22. Beauden Barrett (107)
23. Quinn Tupaea (13)