Bitter Bok fans' last remaining excuse for humbling Ireland loss is debunked
By Rugby Onslaught

Bitter Bok fans’ last remaining excuse for humbling Ireland loss is debunked

We all know that the Springboks have never legitimately lost a rugby match ever since William Webb Ellis first picked up a ball and ran with it 200 years ago. It is always the referee’s fault or some other reason that is conjured up after the final whistle is blown.

Their loss to Ireland on Saturday at the Stade de France is no different. To the rest of the world it looked as though the world number ones matched the Boks physically up front, and as a result the world champions did not have any answers. But to a Bok fan experienced in the art of complaining, Andy Farrell’s side were gifted a try that should not have stood and eventually led to them winning the game.

Mack Hansen was the scorer of Ireland’s sole try in the match, but there have been plenty of fans (no prizes for guessing where from) that have claimed the try should not have stood due to the winger being out of play when he placed the ball down. Now Hansen did leave this one very close indeed, and his elbow was certainly very close to being on the dead ball line when he dived to score, but the ultimate evidence has been provided which proves the ball was placed down first.

In what is surely a groundbreaking technological advancement, one TikTok user has provided the definitive proof that this was a try, therefore debunking the final excuse the Boks had for their loss. Take a look:

@louis_viljoen777 RSA VS IRLAND #southafrica #irland #rugby #worldcup2023 #fyp ♬ Ireland – Irish Pub Society

This is all the evidence we need, or indeed anyone else should need.

The Springboks have one more match remaining in the pool stages at this World Cup against Tonga, which is now a must-win with a bonus point. With Scotland having two games left, two bonus point victories could see them progress ahead of the Springboks should they fail to score four tries against Tonga.