Eben Etzebeth set to make debut as Sharks unleash big guns on Glasgow
By Rugby Onslaught

Eben Etzebeth set to make debut as Sharks unleash big guns on Glasgow

South Africa lock Eben Etzebeth is set to make his greatly anticipated Sharks debut this Saturday against Glasgow Warriors, as many Springboks return to the squad.

Following the conclusion of the Rugby Championship three weeks ago, the 30-year-old is set to make his first appearance since then, and joins Hyron Andrews in the second row. He is also joined by flanker Vincent Tshituka in making his debut when the Sharks run out at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in Durban tomorrow.

Fellow Springbok Jaden Hendrikse also comes straight into the starting XV, while the bench is littered with returning Boks, including Bongi Mbonambi, Ox Nche, Siya Kolisi and Makazole Mapimpi.

Looking ahead to the game, Hendrikse said: “I’m super excited to get onto the park this weekend, for me it’s about enjoying every moment.

“The focus for us has been on our defence, we need to get our spacing and alignment right and then to make our tackles. And when we have possession in their 22, to be absolutely accurate with the ball.

“What we saw last weekend was Glasgow matching the Bulls physically, they disrupted the Bulls’ lineouts and attacked their breakdown. But the focus of this game is more on ourselves and pitching up on Saturday and playing the Cell C Sharks way.”

The Sharks announced the signing of Etzebeth in February, but he has since finished the Top 14 season with his former club Toulon, played a Test series against Wales and taken part in the Rugby Championship, meaning his debut has been a long time coming for many.

Cell C Sharks XV
1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Thomas du Toit (c)
4. Eben Etzebeth*
5. Hyron Andrews
6. Dylan Richardson
7. Vincent Tshituka*
8. Phepsi Buthelezi
9. Jaden Hendrikse
10. Boeta Chamberlain
11. Anthony Volmink
12. Ben Tapuai
13. Marnus Potgieter
14. Werner Kok
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Bongi Mbonambi
17. Ox Nche
18. Carlu Sadie
19. Reniel Hugo
20. Siya Kolisi
21. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
22. Cameron Wright
23. Makazole Mapimpi

*Denotes debut for the Cell C Sharks