Five times the TMO got it wrong
Most of the time, the TMO gets it right – but sometimes, they get it horribly wrong.
We’ve delved through the archives and unearthed times when the television match official cocked it up under the pressure.
So, without further ado.
Let’s get stuck in!
TMO rules out Gareth Anscombe try against England in 2018 Six Nations
This one kicked up a real fuss at the time.
In this vital opening weekend Six Nations encounter Wales full-back Gareth Anscombe was denied a try in the 22nd minute of play. We see as he pounces on a bouncing ball in the England dead ball area under hot pursuit from Anthony Watson.
The slow-mo replays of the replay make for a close call for the TMO and eventually it is ruled out.
It’s clear however than on close viewing of the event Anscombe does get his hand down first. This decision was costly in what had been a close encounter up to that point.
In an unprecedented move, World Rugby confirmed after the match that there was an error in the call made by the TMO.
Jonny Wilkinson awarded try for acrobatic finish against Scotland in 2007
The legendary England fly-half had had a magnificent comeback match vs Scotland back in 2007.
He had already scored 20 points in this Six nations opener after a long absence from the International scene due to injuries.
In the closing stages of the game, we see as Wilkinson pops up in space following scrum-half Harry Ellis.
He receives the ball and makes an acrobatic dive for the corner – reaching for the whitewash with one outstretched hand with the rest of his body in mid-air.
It looked great but it had to go upstairs for the TMO to have a look…
How did they get it that wrong?!
Referee gets a little too close to the action in France vs All Blacks encounter
This one really takes the biscuit.
We’re just going to leave this here for you to watch…
Words fail us!
David Strettle try against Wales disallowed
This corker is from back in the 2012 Six Nations.
England were up against fierce rivals Wales at Twickenham. This TMO shocker occurred in the last play of the game.
The hosts were down by seven points and needed a converted try for the draw.
We see as they throw it wide to David Strettle who cuts inside and wriggles over the whitewash to score…or did he.
TMO has had a nightmare here!
CJ Stander red-carded against South Africa
Another abysmal call from the television match official. This time, from South Africa.
Back in Irelands 2016 tour against the Springboks, CJ Stander received a red card for this collision with fly-half Pat Lambie.
We won’t deny, it looks awful but surely this was completely accidental?
TMO – hang your heads in shame!
Do you agree with these picks?
Did they get it right?