Ma'a Nonu launches All Blacks World Cup selection bid with dominant display
By Rugby Onslaught

Ma’a Nonu launches All Blacks World Cup selection bid with dominant display

The San Diego Legion climbed to the top of the Major League Rugby table on Saturday with a bonus point win over Rugby ATL at Silverbacks Park, Atlanta.

In the heart of the action was none other than two time World Cup winner Ma’a Nonu, who shows no signs of slowing down in his illustrious career. The former All Black turns 41 in just a few weeks, but you would not know that given his display. Nonu did what he does best in Atlanta, particularly in the build up to scrum-half Richard Judd’s first try.

Nonu burst through the defensive line in the midfield as he has done so many times throughout his career, before producing a long passes that was perhaps not his vintage play. However, it did eventually find its intended recipient via the floor as the Legion piled on the points to win 35-10.

Take a look at the try he created:

It was confirmed in October last year that Nonu had resigned with the Californian club. After the announcement, head coach Danny Lee said: “Ma’a is a global superstar on and off the field and is Legion through and through. We look forward to him coming back and terrorizing the opposition with his damaging attack and brutal defense.

Nonu added: “Grateful for the opportunity to play for San Diego Legion in 2023. I am really excited about the upcoming season and look forward to the new challenge ahead.”

1 Jonas Petrakopoulos, 2 Alex Maughan, 3 Wikus Groenewald, 4 Justin Basson, 5 Johan Momsen (capt.), 6 Vili Helu, 7 Matt Heaton, 8 Jason Damm, 9 Ryan Rees, 10 Kurt Coleman, 11 Austin White, 12 Rewita Biddle, 13 Will Leonard, 14 Te Rangatira Waitokia, 15 Martini Talapusi

Replacements: 16 Tiaan Erasmus, 17 Will Burke, 18 Lincoln Si’i, 19 Nahuel Milán, 20 Daemon Torres, 21 Rowan Gouws, 22 Seth Purdey, 23 Nolan Tuamoheloa

1 Faka’osi Pifeleti, 2 Shilo Klein, 3 Chris Baumann, 4 Ben Grant, 5 Isaac Ross, 6 Christian Poidevin, 7 Blair Cowan (capt.), 8 Tupou Afungia, 9 Richard Judd, 10 Will Hooley, 11 Nate Augspurger, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 13 Marcel Brache, 14 Tomas Aoake, 15 Mikey Te’o

Replacements: 16 Sean McNulty, 17 Djustice Sears-Duru, 18 Nathan Sylvia, 19 Dan Pryor, 20 Tevita Tameilau, 21 Chris Turori, 22 Josh Henderson, 23 Tiaan Loots