Centre defies all we know about physics by pulverising lock over 30kg heavier
By Rugby Onslaught

Centre defies all we know about physics by pulverising lock over 30kg heavier

Sale Sharks lock Cobus Wiese genuinely thought he was about to stroll in for a try at the GTech Community Stadium against London Irish on Sunday.

You can see it in his eyes: he had space on the outside and not far to run, and on top of that he has a 116kg frame to get him over the line. London Irish’s 84kg inside centre Rory Jennings was having none of it though.

When Wiese was actually on the line, Jennings flew across the field to blast the lock into touch, taking no regard for his own safety. The South African was blasted about two metres out and was left shellshocked, before leaving the field shortly after.

This was a massive try saving tackle, in what would have been a try that would have made the scores level if it was converted. This summed up how the Exiles were able to repel the Sharks, as they came away with a 36-18 victory to lift them into fifth place in the Gallagher Premiership in what has been a resurgent second half to the season. Sale, meanwhile, remain in second place in the league.

Take a look at the tackle:

London Irish XV: 15 Ben Loader, 14 Lucio Cinti, 13 Benhard van Rensburg, 12 Rory Jennings, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Hugh O’Sullivan, 1 Facundo Gigena, 2 Agustin Creevy, 3 Oliver Hoskins, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 5 Rob Simmons, 6 Matt Rogerson (c), 7 Tom Pearson, 8 So’otala Fa’aso’o.

Replacements: 16 Mike Willemse, 17 Tarek Haffar, 18 Lovejoy Chawatama, 19 Josh Caulfield, 20 Josh Basham, 21 Chandler Cunningham-South, 22 Joe Powell, 23 James Stokes.

Sale Sharks XV: 15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Rob du Preez, 12. Ryan Mills, 10. George Ford, 9. Raffi Quirke; 1. Bevan Rodd, 2. Ewan Ashman, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 4. Cobus Wiese, 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Jono Ross ©, 7. Sam Dugdale, 8. Jean-Luc du Preez.

Replacements: 16. Tommy Taylor, 17. Simon McIntyre, 18. Nick Schonert, 19. Josh Beaumont, 20. Dan du Preez, 21. Gus Warr, 22. Luke James, 23. Arron Reed.