South African sensation smashes yet another Test forward with frightening ease
By Rugby Onslaught

South African sensation smashes yet another Test forward with frightening ease

A common theme is emerging in the United Rugby Championship each week when the Lions play, and that is 19-year-old flanker Ruan Venter producing an Earth-shuddering collision.

Last week it was Edinburgh’s Scotland and British & Irish Lions flanker Hamish Watson who was being run through and tackled into oblivion by the 120kg South African, and this week it was former Australia lock Sam Carter. All 116kg of Ulster’s 16-cap Wallaby was smashed onto his backside trying to tackle Venter at Ellis Park on Saturday, as the Junior Springbok continues to make a name for himself.

Take a look at Venter’s carry:

Venter started in a pack alongside Willem Alberts, who, although now in the twilight of his career at the age of 38, did not garner the nickname ‘The Bone Collector’ for nothing. A pack with Venter and Alberts both in their prime would be inhumane.

Looking at the Lions pack, Ulster forwards Coach Roddy Grant said: “It’s so competitive now in the BKT United Rugby Championship, home and away. With the South African teams, they have some really good packs, and the travel is also exciting. This week, just like every week, we are preparing to play and win.”

Emirates Lions: Andries Coetzee, Edwill van der Merwe, Henco van Wyk, Marius Louw, Quan Horn, Gianni Lombard, Sanele Nohamba, JP Smith, Jaco Visagie, Ruan Dreyer, Willem Alberts, Reinhard Nothnagel (CAPT), Emmanuel Tshituka, Ruan Venter, Francke Horn
Replacements: PJ Botha, Sti Sithole, Ruan Smith, Pieter Jansen van Vuren, Sibusiso Sangweni, Morne van den Berg, Jordan Hendrikse, Zander du Plessis

Ulster: Michael Lowry, Rob Baloucoune, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Rob Lyttle, Billy Burns, John Cooney, Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring, Gareth Milasinovich, Alan O’Connor (CAPT), Sam Carter, Dave McCann, Marcus Rea, Duane Vermeulen
Replacements: John Andrew, Callum Reid, Tom O’Toole, Cormac Izuchukwu, Nick Timoney, Nathan Doak, Stewart Moore, Ethan McIlroy