The exact moment Evan Roos stole Duane Vermeulen's soul, and Springboks place
By Rugby Onslaught

The exact moment Evan Roos stole Duane Vermeulen’s soul, and Springboks place

Duane Vermeulen was the monumental absentee from Jacques Nienaber’s South Africa squad yesterday, with Stormers No8 Evan Roos earning a call up to the squad.

This announcement came after Roos’ Stormers overcame Vermeulen’s Ulster at the death in the United Rugby Championship semi final. The 22-year-old had a great start to the game, scoring his side’s second try of the match, but there was a particular moment later on in the match that has gone viral.

The moment came in the final ten minutes as a 14-man Stormers were chasing a try to level the scores, and potentially provide a match winning conversion. The ball went to Roos outside Ulster’s 22, and the World Cup winner raced out to meet him, only to be thrown to the ground by the up and coming loose forward with a powerful left handed fend. It was pretty beastly and maybe a sign of a power shift in South African rugby.

It is believed Vermeulen is being rested for the upcoming Wales series, and will undergo surgery for a knee problem. It is safe to say that there is plenty of back up though.

Take a look:

Springbok squad for International season:

Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers)
Vincent Koch (Saracens)
Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers)
Ntuthuko Mchunu (Cell C Sharks)
Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks)
Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92)

Joseph Dweba (Bordeaux)
Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears)
Bongi Mbonambi (Cell C Sharks),

Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks)
Eben Etzebeth (Cell C Sharks)
Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers)
Ruan Nortje (Vodacom Bulls)
Marvin Orie (DHL Stormers)

Loose forwards:
Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz)
Marcell Coetzee (Vodacom Bulls)
Siya Kolisi (Cell C Sharks)
Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls)
Evan Roos (DHL Stormers)
Kwagga Smith (Yamaha J├║bilo)
Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers)

Utility forwards:
Rynhardt Elstadt (Toulouse)
Deon Fourie (DHL Stormers)
Franco Mostert (Honda Heat)

Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks)
Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks)
Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers)
Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks)

Johan Goosen IVodacom Bulls)
Elton Jantjies (NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes)
Handre Pollard (Montpellier Herrault),

Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks)
Damian de Allende (Munster)
Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins)
Jesse Kriel (Cannon Eagles)

Outside Backs:
Aphelele Fassi (Cell C Sharks)
Warrick Gelant (DHL Stormers)
Cheslin Kolbe (Toulon)
Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz)
Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks)

Utility Backs:
Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls)
Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers)