The moment that caused gruesome injury for All Black
By Rugby Onslaught

The moment that caused gruesome injury for All Black

Boots and faces are never a good combination, and All Blacks and Blues tighthead Ofa Tu’ungafasi will attest to that.

The 44-cap All Black was leading the kick chase against the Chiefs in Hamilton in Super Rugby Pacific on Saturday, when he had an unfortunate encounter with opposing No8 Pita Gus Sowakula’s boot, or at least that is what it looks like from the replay. As Sowakula burst through the tackle, Tu’ungafasi was able to keep hold of his legs to down him, but he paid the price, remaining on the floor.

He rose covered in blood, and pictures after the match showed what a gruesome injury he suffered, with two sets of stitches on his head.

The Blues won the match 25-0, which took them to the top of the Super Rugby table briefly, before the Brumbies leapfrogged them, meaning they finished the weekend in second place. They are level on points with the Crusaders, who sit in third, before facing them this Friday in Christchurch in what is shaping up to be the match of the competition so far.

Take a look at the injury:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Feed The Backs (@feedthebacks)

Chiefs XV
1. Aidan Ross
2. Samisoni Taukei’aho
3. Angus Ta’avao
4. Josh Lord
5. Naitoa Ah Kuoi
6. Kaylum Boshier
7. Sam Cane (cc)
8. Pita Gus Sowakula
9. Brad Weber (cc)
10. Bryn Gatland
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo
12. Alex Nankivell
13. Anton Lienert-Brown
14. Emoni Narawa
15. Kaleb Trask

16. Bradley Slater
17. Ollie Norris
18. George Dyer
19. Samipeni Finau
20. Luke Jacobson
21. Cortez Ratima
22. Quinn Tupaea

Blues XV (with caps in brackets)
1. Alex Hodgman (47)
2. Kurt Eklund (29)
3. Ofa Tuungafasi (112)
4. Luke Romano (5)
5. Josh Goodhue (41)
6. Tom Robinson (37)
7. Dalton Papalii© (49)
8. Hoskins Sotutu (28)
9. Finlay Christie (23)
10. Beauden Barrett (9)
11. Mark Telea (30)
12. Bryce Heem (12)
13. Reiko Ioane (78)
14. Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepkens (4)
15. Stephen Perofeta (37)

16. Ricky Riccitelli (4)
17. Jordan Lay (2)
18. Marcel Renata (24)
19. James Tucker (3)
20. Adrian Choat (10)
21. Sam Nock (45)
22. Tanielu Tele’a (17)
23. AJ Lam (12)