The tackle that could rule Cuthbert out of Wales' Six Nations opener
By Rugby Onslaught

The tackle that could rule Cuthbert out of Wales’ Six Nations opener

Ospreys and Wales winger Alex Cuthbert has been handed a three week ban that will rule him out of Wales’ Six Nations opener against Ireland on February 5th for his tackle on Racing 92 hooker Teddy Baubigny in the Heineken Champions Cup.

The tackle came in the first ten minutes at the Liberty Stadium, and while he was only shown a yellow card at the time, it warranted a ban. However, he will be able to return a week earlier if he applies for a World Rugby Coaching Intervention.

Take a look at the tackle:

The Ospreys went on to lose 25-10 against the European giants, leaving them at the foot of the Pool A table. However, Cuthbert’s week significantly improved on Tuesday when he was named in Wayne Pivac’s 36-man squad for the Six Nations, where he will be hoping to earn his first Six Nations cap since 2017.


Forwards (20)
Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby – 16 caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 38 caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 5 caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 23 caps)
Dewi Lake (Ospreys – uncapped)
Bradley Roberts (Ulster Rugby – 1 cap)
Leon Brown (Dragons – 16 caps)
Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 60 caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 34 caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys – 29 caps), vice-captain
Ben Carter (Dragons – 5 caps)
Seb Davies (Cardiff Rugby – 13 caps)
Will Rowlands (Dragons – 13 caps)
Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – 2 caps)
Taine Basham (Dragons – 7 caps)
Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Rugby – 14 caps)
Jac Morgan (Ospreys – uncapped)
Ross Moriarty (Dragons – 49 caps)
James Ratti – (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons – 34 caps)

Backs (16)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets – 65 caps)
Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 8 caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 29 caps)
Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 29 caps)
Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 95 caps), captain
Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby – 52 caps)
Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears – 13 caps)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets – 93 caps)
Uilisi Halaholo (Cardiff Rugby – 9 caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 16 caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 26 caps)
Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 35 caps)
Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 48 caps)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 12 caps)
Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets – 8 caps)
Liam Williams (Scarlets – 74 caps)