The unique moment Agustin Creevy achieved a feat no one will ever achieve again
By Rugby Onslaught

The unique moment Agustin Creevy achieved a feat no one will ever achieve again

Former Argentina captain and London Irish hooker Agustin Creevy scored a try at the weekend against Sale Sharks from a driving maul. That is nothing to write home about though. However, there was something about this try that made it very interesting and rare indeed.

Creevy became the first, and most likely the last player, to score from a driving maul which was gained from his own 50:22. The Argentine kicked the ball, threw the ball into the lineout and scored the try in what was a one man show at the GTech Community Stadium on Sunday as the Exiles won 36-18.

What was even more impressive is that it all came from smart play from the hooker, where he astutely opted to hack away a loose Sale lineout rather than dive on the ball, knowing a 50:22 was a possibility. As soon as the ball trickled over the touch line Creevy was gesticulating ferociously to make sure he got the lineout and things turned out pretty nicely for him a few seconds later.

Take a look:

Declan Kidney’s side came away with a 36-18 victory to lift them into fifth place in the Gallagher Premiership in what has been a resurgent second half to the season. Sale, meanwhile, remain in second place in the league.

London Irish XV: 15 Ben Loader, 14 Lucio Cinti, 13 Benhard van Rensburg, 12 Rory Jennings, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Hugh O’Sullivan, 1 Facundo Gigena, 2 Agustin Creevy, 3 Oliver Hoskins, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 5 Rob Simmons, 6 Matt Rogerson (c), 7 Tom Pearson, 8 So’otala Fa’aso’o.

Replacements: 16 Mike Willemse, 17 Tarek Haffar, 18 Lovejoy Chawatama, 19 Josh Caulfield, 20 Josh Basham, 21 Chandler Cunningham-South, 22 Joe Powell, 23 James Stokes.

Sale Sharks XV: 15. Joe Carpenter, 14. Tom Roebuck, 13. Rob du Preez, 12. Ryan Mills, 10. George Ford, 9. Raffi Quirke; 1. Bevan Rodd, 2. Ewan Ashman, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 4. Cobus Wiese, 5. Jonny Hill, 6. Jono Ross ©, 7. Sam Dugdale, 8. Jean-Luc du Preez.

Replacements: 16. Tommy Taylor, 17. Simon McIntyre, 18. Nick Schonert, 19. Josh Beaumont, 20. Dan du Preez, 21. Gus Warr, 22. Luke James, 23. Arron Reed.