All Blacks powerhouse looks to be in career-best shape ahead of Super Rugby season
By Rugby Onslaught

All Blacks powerhouse looks to be in career-best shape ahead of Super Rugby season

The inaugural Super Rugby Pacific season is now only weeks away, which means all teams involved will be coming to the end of what has probably been a gruelling preseason.

But it looks as though the preseason training has done some players a lot of good, particularly Hurricanes and All Blacks winger Julian Savea.

The 31-year-old shared a photo of himself on social media this week shortly after posting his personal best time in the Bronco Test. Savea looks in the best shape he has ever been in throughout his career, or at least the most slimline. For a player that has struggled with form over the past five years since earning his last All Blacks cap in 2017, this photo is a pretty good indication that he has taken preseason very seriously this year.

Take a look:

2022 Hurricanes squad:
Hookers: Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, James O’Reilly

Props: Tevita Mafileo, Alex Fidow, Xavier Numia, Tyrel Lomax, Pasilio Tosi, Pouri Rakete-Stones

Locks: James Blackwell, Dom Bird, Scott Scrafton, Justin Sangster

Loose forwards: Brayden Iose, Du’Plessis Kirifi, Reed Prinsep, Blake Gibson, Ardie Savea, Tyler Laubscher, Devan Flanders, Caleb Delany, TK Howden

Halfbacks: Jamie Booth, TJ Perenara, Cam Roigard

First fives: Aidan Morgan, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Ruben Love

Midfield: Teihorangi Walden, Billy Proctor, Peter Umaga-Jensen, Bailyn Sullivan

Outside backs: Julian Savea, Jordie Barrett, Pepesana Patafilo, Salesi Rayasi, Wes Goosen, Josh Moorby

Unavailable due to injury: Owen Franks, Isaia Walker-Leawere

2022 Hurricanes transfers:
In: Bird (France), Gibson (Blues), Walden (Taranaki), Sullivan (Chiefs), Tosi (Bay of Plenty), Sangster (Bay of Plenty), Laubscher (Manawatu), Morgan (Wellington), Roigard (Counties-Manukau), Moorby (Southland), Delaney (Wellington), Howden (Manawatu), Franks (England)

Out: Ngani Laumape (France), Vince Aso (Japan), Vaea Fifita (England), Ricky Riccitelli (Blues), Gareth Evans (Highlanders), Simon Hickey (Crusaders), Lolagi Visinia (Moana Pasifika), Jonathan Taumateine (Moana Pasifika), Orbyn Leger (Japan), Danny Toala (Moana Pasifika), Luke Campbell (France), Liam Mitchell (Italy), Kane Leaupepe (retired), Fraser Armstrong (retired)