Analyst debunks Eddie Jones' claim about England's attack
By Rugby Onslaught

Analyst debunks Eddie Jones’ claim about England’s attack

Say what you want about England’s attack, and a lot of people have over the past two weeks, but there are clear signs of a structure to it despite what Eddie Jones has previously said.

The Australian has previously been quoted saying “We don’t play any sort of formation. Most teams around the world play a 1-3-3-1 or a 2-4-2 where the forwards are on certain positions on the field. We play a completely free formation.”

Now given the way England have attacked so far this Six Nations, many people would aver that this policy is not working for England, where the lack of formation creates a lack of organisation. However, analyst Brett Igoe recently highlighted how there is a very clear formation to England’s attack from wide rucks.

In a video shared on Twitter, Igoe showed how England’s forwards set up in pods of three off rucks in the wider channels, with a link player behind them. He wrote: “Eddie Jones claims he plays – free of formation. My analysis class looked at how England play off wide/Edge rucks. (Looks like a formation to us!) And what Ireland can expect on Saturday.”

This is what Ireland are likely to encounter at Twickenham on Saturday in their round four encounter. Here is the England squad:


Alfie Barbeary (Wasps, uncapped)
Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 5 caps)
Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 39 caps)
Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 7 caps)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 29 caps)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 34 caps)
Jamie George (Saracens, 64 caps)
Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens, 54 caps)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 69 caps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 91 caps)
Joe Marler (Harlequins, 77 caps)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)
Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 50 caps)
Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 18 caps)

Elliot Daly (Saracens, 55 caps)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 79 caps)
Max Malins (Saracens, 13 caps)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 10 caps)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 37 caps)
Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 4 caps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 46 caps)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 8 caps)
Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 8 caps)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 115 caps)

Take a look at the video: