Ange Capuozzo crushes Wallabies in historic Italy win
By Rugby Onslaught

Ange Capuozzo crushes Wallabies in historic Italy win

Italy’s Ange Capuozzo has done it again. After creating an epic try earlier this year to break Wales’ hearts in Cardiff in the Six Nations, he was giving Australia the same treatment today, this time scoring himself.

The 23-year-old fullback scored on 65 minutes to give Italy a ten point lead, and despite a late fightback from the Wallabies, they could not close the gap with the hosts winning 28-27. It did, however, all come down to a Ben Donaldson conversion in the final play of the match to decide the result, which the debutant missed.

It was actually Capuozzo’s second try of the match, with both being as impressive as each other. The Toulouse fullback announced himself to the northern hemisphere during the Six Nations, and now it looks as though he has announced himself to the rest of the world with this. Take a look at the match winning try:

Capuozzo’s first half try helped give Italy a 17-8 lead at half time and it was probably a better try, to be fair, as he showed some electric pace and a dummy for the ages to flummox Mark Nawaqanitawase. Take a look at the try:

Italy host the Springboks next week, hoping to repeat their historic victory of 2016. Jacques Nienbaer might have been thinking about resting a few of his key players for that match with the World Champions facing France and England either side of it, but he might need to think again.

Italy: 15. Ange Capuozzo, 14. Pierre Bruno, 13. Juan Ignacio Brex, 12. Luca Morisi, 11. Monty Ioane, 10. Paolo Garbisi, 9. Stephen Varney, 1. Danilo Fischetti, 2. Gianmarco Lucchesi, 3. Simone Ferrari, 4. Niccolò Cannone, 5. Federico Ruzza, 6. Sebastian Negri, 7. Michele Lamaro (capt), 8. Lorenzo Cannone.
Replacements: 16. Giacomo Nicotera, 17. Ivan Nemer, 18. Pietro Ceccarelli, 19. David Sisi, 20. Toa Halafihi, 21. Alessandro Garbisi, 22. Tommaso Allan, 23. Tommaso Menoncello.

Australia: 15. Jock Campbell, 14. Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13. Len Ikitau, 12. Hunter Paisami, 11. Tom Wright, 10. Noah Lolesio, 9. Jake Gordon, 1. Matt Gibbon, 2. Folau Fainga’a, 3. Allan Alaalatoa (capt), 4. Nick Frost, 5. Will Skelton, 6. Ned Hanigan, 7. Fraser McReight, 8. Pete Samu.
Replacements: 16. Lachlan Lonergan, 17. Tom Robertson, 18. Taniela Tupou, 19. Darcy Swain, 20. Langi Gleeson, 21. Tate McDermott, 22. Ben Donaldson, 23. Jordan Petaia.