Axed England star Marler is swiftly snapped up by Quins
By Rugby Onslaught

Axed England star Marler is swiftly snapped up by Quins

Eddie Jones is playing an interesting game with Joe Marler at the moment, who was released from England’s 25-man squad yesterday during the fallow week.

This is exactly what happened last fallow week, although Jones has selected London Irish loosehead Will Goodrick-Clarke on this occasion rather than Bevan Rodd. But just like last time, Marler has come straight into the Harlequins starting XV, who host Newcastle Falcons tomorrow.

The 31-year-old put in a strong scrummaging performance against Wasps in the last fallow week and found himself back in the England matchday squad against Wales last Saturday.

In this case, it is less likely that Marler is being dropped per se, rather Jones wants him to have more game time as he is largely used from the bench with England. Maybe the Australian knows exactly what he is going to get from the 77-cap loosehead so does not need him in camp. On the other hand, he may want more time with the inexperienced pair of Rodd and Goodrick-Clarke.

Whatever the reason, Quins benefit a lot from this. This is what Quins head coach Tabai Matson said:

“Our game against Newcastle in round one was tough. They targeted that game. We’re glad that we were able to play well in the first game of the season and scrape through with a win.

“The table positions this weekend won’t mean a huge amount on each side’s performance. They’ll be coming down looking for any opportunity to disrupt us. They’ll have the genuine feeling that they can come down to London and get stuck put us off our game, so we’re preparing for that.”

Harlequins Starting XV
1. Joe Marler
2. Sam Riley
3. Wilco Louw
4. Matt Symons
5. Hugh Tizard
6. Stephan Lewies – Captain
7. Tom Lawday
8. Archie White
9. Danny Care
10. Tommy Allan
11. Cadan Murley
12. Andre Esterhuizen
13. Huw Jones
14. Louis Lynagh
15. Tyrone Green

Impact Players
16. Jack Walker
17. Simon Kerrod
18. Will Collier
19. George Hammond
20. Matas Jurevicius
21. Lewis Gjaltema
22. Will Edwards
23. Luke Northmore