LEAKED: Conor McGregor lives to regret mocking All Blacks' Haka in deleted tweet
By Rugby Onslaught

LEAKED: Conor McGregor lives to regret mocking All Blacks’ Haka in deleted tweet

There are some things you do and some things you don’t do before an All Blacks match and one of the things you don’t do is mock the Haka.

Ahead of one of the most eagerly anticipated matches in Rugby World Cup history, certainly for a quarter-final, between the All Blacks and the world number ones Ireland, the Haka did not disappoint as Ireland formed a number eight in memory of the late Anthony Foley, just as they did at Soldier Field against the All Blacks in 2016 when they recorded their first ever win over them.

The atmosphere was incredible, but one person was not so impressed, and it just so happened to be one of the most outspoken people on planet Earth.

UFC great Conor McGregor piped up on X before kick off to mock the Haka the All Blacks had produced, writing “Weak haka imo. Whole team ductaped up ahaha let’s go Ireland.”

The 35-year-old soon realised the error of his ways and deleted the tweet, although it is unclear whether he deleted it because of the insensitivity towards the Haka or because the All Blacks went on to beat his Ireland in one of the all time great games.

Fortunately, we have the tweet still, here it is:

Then again, if McGregor was embarrassed about his tweet after the result, he did not delete his other tweets where he seemed to say that Ireland weren’t afraid of the All Blacks. He wrote: “Dear All Blacks, the only black stuff that scares our lads are shite pints and there’s none to be found @ForgedStout#COYBIG #HistoryMakers”

Take a look at the Haka before the match:

All Blacks (caps in brackets):
1. Ethan de Groot (19) 2. Codie Taylor (82) 3. Tyrel Lomax (29) 4. Brodie Retallick (106) 5. Scott Barrett (66) 6. Shannon Frizell (30) 7. Sam Cane (c) (92) 8. Ardie Savea (78) 9. Aaron Smith (122) 10. Richie Mo’unga (53) 11. Leicester Fainga’anuku (6) 12. Jordie Barrett (54) 13. Rieko Ioane (66) 14. Will Jordan (28) 15. Beauden Barrett (120)
Replacements: 16. Dane Coles (89) 17. Tamaiti Williams (5) 18. Fletcher Newell (11) 19. Samuel Whitelock (150) 20. Dalton Papali’i (29) 21. Finlay Christie (19) 22. Damian McKenzie (45) 23. Anton Lienert-Brown (67)

1 Andrew Porter 2 Dan Sheehan 3 Tadhg Furlong 4 Tadhg Beirne 5 Iain Henderson 6 Peter O’Mahony 7 Josh van der Flier 8 Caelan Doris 9 Jamison Gibson-Park 10 Johnny Sexton (c) 11 James Lowe 12 Bundee Aki 13 Garry Ringrose 14 Mack Hansen 15 Hugo Keenan
Replacements: 16 Ronan Kelleher 17 Dave Kilcoyne 18 Finlay Bealham 19 Joe McCarthy 20 Jack Conan 21 Conor Murray 22 Jack Crowley 23 Jimmy O’Brien