England and Tonga fans robbed of repeat of monster collision
By Rugby Onslaught

England and Tonga fans robbed of repeat of monster collision

England face Tonga this Saturday at Twickenham and while it will be a physical affair as always, fans will not have a chance to see the rematch between Billy Vunipola and Zane Kapeli.

The two loose forwards crossed paths in their opening matches of the 2019 World Cup, and produced one of the most brutal collisions Test rugby has ever seen. The hit saw all 130kg of the England No8 run at full tilt into the Chiefs flanker, only to find himself flying backwards. Not many people do that to a Vunipola. What is more remarkable is that the Saracen had a ten metre run up, but Kapeli lined him up perfectly and sliced him in half with a completely legal tackle.

Neither man is playing at Twickenham on Saturday, as Vunipola has missed out on Eddie Jones’ England squad for the autumn altogether, but any excuse to show the tackle again:


15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)
14. Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, 1 cap)
13. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 40 caps)
12. Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 43 caps)
11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 66 caps)
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 93 caps)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 109 caps)
1. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 30 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 59 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 44 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 48 caps)
5. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)
6. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 87 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 24 caps)
8. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 33 caps)

16. Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps)
17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 72 caps)
18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)
19. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 23 caps)
20. Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 1 cap)
21. Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
22. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 2 caps)
23. George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)

Tonga 23:
1. Sigfried Fisi’ihoi
2. Paula Ngauamo
3. Ben Tameifuna
4. Halaleva Fifita
5. Tanginoa Halaifonua
6. Lopeti Timani
7. Mateaki Kafatolu
8. Sione Vailanu
9. Sonatane Takulua Ⓒ
10. Kurt Morath
11. Solomone Kata
12. Afusipa Taumoepeau*
13. Mailetoa Hingano
14. Walter Fifita
15. Telusa Veainu

16. Siua Maile
17. Loni Uhila
18. Ma’afu Fia
19. Setofano Funaki
20. Onehunga Havili
21. Leon Fukofuka
22. James Faiva
23. Viliami Fine