Fiji's Olympic Gold medalist hits line every winger dreams of to score
By Rugby Onslaught

Fiji’s Olympic Gold medalist hits line every winger dreams of to score

Every time a winger comes off their wing hoping to slice through the middle of the defence, they are dreaming of the line Fiji’s Jiuta Wainiqolo hit against the French Barbarians on Saturday. Most of the time it ends with them being closed down and smashed in the middle of the field, but not on this occasion.

Up against a French Barbarians side that had plenty of international experience, including Fijian-born former France winger Noa Nakaitaci, the Tokyo Olympic Gold medalist picked a gap just inside fullback Setareki Tuicuvu and tore through it. It wasn’t even that big a hole in the defence, but a tiny change in direction after receiving the ball left five defenders unable to lay a hand on him. The onrushing Leo Barre in the back field could only push him, but by then it was too late and Wainiqolo was over the line.

Wainiqolo was on the scoreboard against later in the match as his side registered a 46-14 win in Lille to bring their tour of the northern hemisphere to an end following losses to Scotland in Edinburgh and the world number ones Ireland in Dublin.

Take a look at his line and try:

Fiji XV
1. Eroni Mawi
2. Sam Matavesi
3. Manasa Saulo
4. Apisalome Ratuniyarawa
5. Temo Mayanavanua
6. Isoa Nasilasila
7. Kitione Kamikamica
8. Viliame Mata
9. Simione Kuruvoli
10. Ben Volavola
11. Vinaya Habosi
12. Kalaveti Ravouvou
13. Waisea Nayacalevu
14. Jiuta Wainiqolo
15. Setareki Tuicuvu

16. Tevita Ikanivere
17. Livai Natave
18. Luka Tagi
19. Mesulame Dolokoto
20. John Dyer
21. Peni Matawalu
22. Adrea Cocagi
23. Sireli Maqala

French Barbarians XV
1. Daniel Bibi Biziwu
2. Janick Tarrit
3. Aurelien Azar
4. Mathieu Tanguy
5. Kevin Kornath
6. Killian Tixeront
7. Sacha Zegueur
8. Alexandre Roumat
9. Maxime Machenaud
10. Leo Barre
11. Arthur Bonneval
12. Lucas Tauzin
13. Alfred Parisien
14. Noa Nakaitaci
15. Louis Bielle-Biarrey

16. Lucas Velarte
17. Daniel Brennan
18. Arthur Joly
19. Jimi Maximin
20. Matteo Le Corvec
21. Jonathan Pelissie
22. Mathieu Smaili
23. Pierre Popelin