Finn Russell defies laws of physics with greatest trick pass of all time
By Rugby Onslaught

Finn Russell defies laws of physics with greatest trick pass of all time

Finn Russell is one of the greatest rugby magicians of his generation, and though people expect magic every time he takes the field, the Scot sometimes produces things that still leave viewers scratching their eyes.

It was the same again against the Ospreys today in the Heineken Champions Cup at the Liberty Stadium, where he produced a pass in the build up to Juan Imhoff’s try that would have left every spectator in the stadium gobsmacked.

This new pass has barely ever been seen in rugby, as it is so hard to pull off. The pass is a backwards pass that actually goes forward. The 2021 British & Irish Lion pulled it off at the half way line, where the ball clearly went forward by almost a metre but went unnoticed. Only players famed for such trickery can get away with a pass like that, as it apparently bends the laws of physics.

Take a look at the pass:

Racing came away with the win in the end, triumphing 25-10 with Russell producing a monster kick from over 50 metres out in the second half. Take a look at the kick:

The win put Racing at the top of Pool A in the Champions Cup ahead of a clash with Northampton Saints next week.

Ospreys XV
15 Matt Protheroe
14 Alex Cuthbert
13 Owen Watkin
12 Kieran Williams
11 Luke Morgan
10 Gareth Anscombe
9 Rhys Webb
1 Gareth Thomas
2 Dewi Lake
3 Tomas Francis
4 Rhys Davies
5 Adam Beard
6 Will Griffiths
7 Jac Morgan
8 Ethan Roots

16 Elvis Taione
17 Nicky Smith
18 Ma’afu Fia
19 Will Hickey
20 Sam Cross
21 Reuben Morgan-Williams
22 Josh Thomas
23 Michael Collins

Racing 92 XV
15 Kurtley Beale
14 Teddy Thomas
13 Olivier Klemenczak
12 Gael Fickou
11 Juan Jose Imhoff
10 Finn Russell
9 Maxime Machenaud
1 Eddy Ben Arous
2 Teddy Baubigny
3 Ali Oz
4 Luke Jones
5 Boris Palu
6 Ibrahim Diallo
7 Baptiste Chouzenoux
8 Anthime Hemery

16 Jonathan Maiau
17 Guram Gogichashvili
18 Cedate Gomes Sa
19 Victor Moreaux
20 Camille Chat
21 Antoine Gibert
22 Virimi Vakatawa
23 Donovan Taofifenua