FOOTAGE: Dane Coles gets away with near fatal judo throw
By Rugby Onslaught

FOOTAGE: Dane Coles gets away with near fatal judo throw

Dane Coles – shame on you. The Wallabies would have won if it wasn’t for this this decision.

Had to be a red card.

New Zealand struck first within the first three minutes of the match, finding some space out wide allowing flyhalf Ruahei Demant to score underneath the posts and give the hosts a 0-7 lead. Australia countered immediately, with a brilliantly worked try from the Australian backs, who got the ball into the hands of Mahalia Murphy. Murphy fended off two New Zealand tackles to bring the scores to 5-7. As the half progressed, the much improved Wallaroos placed pressure on New Zealand and physically dominated the breakdown, however the Black Ferns were the next to score with a penalty, moving the score to 5-10. New Zealand continued to put pressure on the Wallaroos and were able to cross the line through Eloise Blackwell to extend the hosts lead to 5-17. Australia fought their way back into the half, building consistent pressure on New Zealand inside their 22, with the Wallaroos rewarded with a penalty which Lori Cramer gratefully accepted, closing the gap to 8-17 at the break.

The second half was a seesawing battle as both teams battled to establish the upper hand for the second stanza. New Zealand were the first to score through a penalty, with Cocksedge taking the lead to 8-20. It took until the 60th minute for either team to trouble the scoreboard with Carla Hohepa scoring in the corner, taking a commanding lead of 8-25. The Buildcorp Wallaroos continued to fight hard into the final quarter, but New Zealand was able to cross the line and pull away from the Wallaroos with tries to Charmaine McMenamin and Charmaine Smith closing out the match 8-37.

New Zealand 37 (Ruahei Demant, Eloise Blackwell, Carla Hohepa, Charmaine McMenamin tries Kenra Cocksedge 2, Chelsea Alley cons Kendra Cocksedge 2 pens) defeated Australia 8 (Mahalia Murphy try Lori Cramer pen)

1.Liz Patu 2. Averyl Mitchell 3. Evelyn Horomia 4. Michaela Leonard 5. Alisha Hewett 6. Millie Boyle 7. Shannon Mato 8. Grace Hamilton (c) 9. Iliseva Batibasaga 10. Trilleen Pomare 11. Lori Cramer 12. Ariana Hira-Herangi 13. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea 14. Mahalia Murphy 15. Mhicca Carter
16. Ash Marsters 17. Emily Robinson 18. Christina Sekona 19. Rebecca Clough 20. Emily Chancellor 21. Alana Elisaia 22. Arabella McKenzie 23. Samantha Treherne

New Zealand
1.Toka Natua 2. Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate 3. Aleisha-Pearl Nelson 4. Eloise Blackwell 5. Charmaine Smith 6. Pia Tapsell 7.Les Elder 8. Charmaine McMenamin 9. Kendra Cocksedge 10.Ruahei Demant 11. Ayesha Leti-I’iga 12.Chelsea Alley 13.Carla Hohepa 14. Renee Wickliffe 15.Selica Winiata
16. Luka Connor 17.Leilani Perese 18. Olivia Ward-Duin 19. Jackie Patea-Fereti 20. Kennedy Simon 21. Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu 22. Krysten Cottrell 23. Grace Brooker

Wallaroos Substitutions
54 mins- Chancellor for Mato, Sekona for Horomia
56 mins- Marsters for Mitchell
63 mins- McKenzie for Pomare, Treherne for Carter
69 mins- Clough for Hewett, Robinson for Patu, Elisaia for Murphy

Match Notes
Rebecca Clough equals the most Test caps for Australia with 24, joining Tui Ormsby and Selena Tranter (nee Worsley).
Alana Elisaia becomes Wallaroo 177.
Australia finishes the 2019 International season with a 50% winning ratio, having won two of its four Tests this season.

Dane Coles
Dane Coles