Frans Steyn starts mass brawl after most humiliating hit of his career
By Rugby Onslaught

Frans Steyn starts mass brawl after most humiliating hit of his career

It is not very often Frans Steyn gets smashed backwards on a rugby pitch, but it is not very often that he runs into Griffons centre Marquit September.

The two hefty centres went head to head in the first half of the Griffons’ Currie Cup clash with the Cheetahs on Sunday, and it ended in violent fashion.

The double World Cup winner was stopped dead in his tracks by September following a midfield carry, knocking the ball on immediately in the process. Perhaps it was the joy of knowing he had just smashed a legendary Springbok, or perhaps he just did not know that the ball had been knocked on, but September proceeded to pick up Steyn’s leg and drive him back a further ten metres. This did not go down well with the Cheetahs centre, who actually finished the tackle by throwing the tackler to the ground. From there a brawl ensued, with players rushing in from all directions to join in.

The Cheetahs were leading 33-6 at that point, and went on to win 52-12, but Steyn came off second best in that particular encounter.

Take a look at the tackle and brawl:

Griffons: 15 Domenic Smit, 14 Duren Hoffman, 13 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 12 Marquit September, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Duan Pretorius, 9 Jaywinn Juries, 8 Sokhuphumla Xakalashe, 7 Jean Pretorius, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Michael Benadie, 4 Jaco Willemse, 3 Doctor Booysen, 2 Dandre Delport, 1 Stephan De Jager.
Replacements: 16 Hendrik Van Schoor, 17 Xolani Jacobs, 18 Buhle Nojekwa, 19 Wikus Nieuwenhuis, 20 Thato Mavundla, 21 Richman Gora, 22 Robbie Petzer, 23 Keanu Vers.

Cheetahs: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Evardi Boshoff, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Munier Hartzenberg, 10 Reinhardt Fortuin, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Friedle Olivier, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete (captain), 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Coenraad Janse van Vuuren, 2 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Replacements: 16 Alulutho Tshakweni, 17 Louis van der Westhuizen, 18 Hencus van Wyk, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Daniel Maartens, 21 Rewan Kruger, 22 Robert Ebersohn, 23 Cohen Jasper.