Leinster achieve genuine rugby perfection with this try against Bath
By Rugby Onslaught

Leinster achieve genuine rugby perfection with this try against Bath

There were plenty of standout moments in Leinster’s 64-7 demolition of Bath at the Rec in the Heineken Champions Cup today.

Jimmy O’Brien’s four tries would have been a standout for some. Johnny Sexton’s pinpoint cross field kick to seal O’Brien’s hat-trick may have been a standout moment for others. But it was perhaps their ninth try of the contest that will be remembered most fondly amongst rugby purists.

The try was scored by substitute hooker Dan Sheehan, who scored a similarly impressive try against Montpellier last week. The try was straight from the training paddock, as Leinster simply had Bath running around in circles trying to stop them.

When Leo Cullen went to bed last night, he would have been dreaming of a move like this coming off as everything went to plan. One phase after a lineout, Sheehan was slicing through the middle of Bath’s defence with the help of a nifty pass from Jamison Gibson-Park to rub salt into the host’s wound.

With a combined score of 153-14 over their last two games in the Champions Cup, it is safe to say Leinster are at the top of their game and one of the favourites to win the competition altogether.

Take a look at the try:


Bath Starting XV
15. Ruaridh McConnochie
14. Will Butt
13. Max Clark
12. Cameron Redpath
11. Gabriel Hamer-Webb
10. Orlando Bailey
9. Ben Spencer
1. Arthur Cordwell
2. Jacques du Toit
3. Will Stuart
4. Will Spencer
5. Charlie Ewels (c)
6. Tom Ellis
7. Sam Underhill
8. Josh Bayliss

16. Tom Doughty
17. Will Vaughan
18. Johannes Jonker
19. Josh McNally
20. Mike Williams
21. Joe Simpson
22. Max Ojomoh
23. Darren Atkins

Leinster Rugby Starting XV (Leinster caps in brackets)
15. Hugo Keenan (37)
14. Jordan Larmour (68)
13. Garry Ringrose (93)
12. Robbie Henshaw (59)
11. Jimmy O’Brien (40)
10. Johnny Sexton CAPTAIN (177)
9. Luke McGrath (159)
1. Andrew Porter (84)
2. Rónan Kelleher (32)
3. Michael Ala’alatoa (8)
4. Ross Molony (124)
5. Josh Murphy (51)
6. Caelan Doris (46)
7. Josh van der Flier (105)
8. Jack Conan (109)

16. Dan Sheehan (20)
17. Cian Healy (240)
18. Vakh Abdaladze (15)
19. Ryan Baird (35)
20. Max Deegan (73)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (108)
22. Ross Byrne (113)
23. Ciarán Frawley (44)