The scrum that will give Wales fans nightmares forever
By Rugby Onslaught

The scrum that will give Wales fans nightmares forever

Wales did the a very kind thing in the second half against Georgia on Saturday at the Principality Stadium and decided to forget how to play rugby.

Nothing should be taken away from Georgia, who were at their gritty best, but the hosts barely threw a punch in the second half, where they failed to score a point in the 13-12 loss.

Wales were leading going into the last ten minutes, but had already come close to losing their lead when Georgia missed a penalty. Knowing how beastly the Georgian pack is, there was always a danger every time a scrum went down, and so it proved to be.

The fateful moment for Wales came in the 76th minute, with Wales having the put-in in a scrum just inside their half. Just seconds after Tomos Williams put the ball in, Georgia were blitzing the Welsh pack and unceremoniously marching them backwards to win a penalty. It still required some kick, but Luka Matkava showed nerves of steel to score the three points.

Take a look at the scrum:

Fast forward a few minutes and Wales again had a scrum, this time in Georgia’s half. History repeated itself again though, as the visitors obliterated the Welsh pack again to more or less confirm the result. Take a look:

Wales XV
15. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 21 caps)
14. Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 53 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys – 107 caps)
12. Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 35 caps)
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby 42 – caps)
10. Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby – 54 caps)
9. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 38 caps)
1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 15 caps)
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets – 84 caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 43 caps)
4. Ben Carter (Dragons – 7 caps)
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 39 caps)
6. Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 4 caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 87 caps) captain
8. Josh Macleod (Scarlets – uncapped)

16. Bradley Roberts (Dragons – 2 caps)
17. Rhodri Jones (Dragons – 22 caps)
18. Sam Wainwright (Saracens – 3 caps)
19. Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs – uncapped)
20. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 93 caps)
21. Dane Blacker (Scarlets – uncapped)
22. Sam Costelow (Scarlets – 1 cap)
23. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 96 caps)

Georgia XV
15 Davit Niniashvili
14 Mirian Modebadze
13 Demur Tapladze
12 Merab Sharikadze
11 Alexander Todua
10 Tedo Abzhandadze
9 Vasil Lobzhanidze
1 Guram Gogichashvili
2 Giorgi Chkoidze
3 Guram Papidze
4 Nodar Cheishvili
5 Kote Mikautadze
6 Beka Gorgadze
7 Beka Saginadze
8 Tornike Jalagonia

16 Shalva Mamukashvili
17 Nika Abuladze
18 Alexandre Kuntelia
19 Vladimeri Chachanidze
20 Sandro Mamamtavrishvili
21 Luka Matkava
22 Lasha Khmaladze
23 Lasha Lomidze