Tonga's ex-All Black faces anxious World Cup wait after stupid red card
By Rugby Onslaught

Tonga’s ex-All Black faces anxious World Cup wait after stupid red card

Tonga centre George Moala will have to wait to see whether he can play a full part for his country at the World Cup next month after picking up a red card against Canada on Thursday.

The former All Black was red carded early in the second half at Teufaiva Stadium in Tonga for a tip tackle on Canada centre Ben LeSage, and there can be no complaints about the decision. Even though the match did not have a TMO, it was easy to come to the red card decision as the four-cap All Black simply picked up LeSage and dropped him on his back.

Tonga get their World Cup underway against Ireland on September 16th before facing Scotland twelve days later. He will now have to wait and see whether he is available for those matches.

Tonga did come away from the match victorious, winning 28-3, and saw a former All Blacks centre partnership between Moala and Malakai Fekitoa. An influx of former New Zealand and Australia internationals has seriously bolstered Tonga’s squad heading into this World Cup, but a potential ban could scupper those plans slightly.

Tonga are set to repeat their fixture against Canada on Tuesday at the same venue.

Take a look at Moala’s red card:

Tonga: 15 Afusipa Taumoepeau, 14 Kyren Taumoefolau, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 George Moala, 11 Fine Inisi, 10 Patrick Pellegrini, 9 Tane Takulua (captain), 8 Sione Vailanu, 7 Sione Havili, 6 Solomone Funaki, 5 Tanginoa Halaifonua, 4 Steve Mafi, 3 David Lolohea, 2 Sam Moli, 1 Tau Koloamatangi.

Replacements: 16 Paula Ngauamo, 17 Fe’ao Fotu’aika, 18 Ben Tameifuna, 19 Vaea Fitita, 20 Lopeti Timani, 21 Johnny Ika, 22 Otumaka Mausia, 23 Solomone Kata.

Canada: 15 Peter Nelson, 14 Kainoa Lloyd, 13 Ben LeSage, 12 Spencer Jones, 11 Isaac Olson, 10 Robbie Povey, 9 Ross Braude, 8 Siaki Vikilani, 7 Lucas Rumball, 6 Mason Flesch, 5 Conor Keys, 4 Izzak Kelly, 3 Conor Young, 2 Andrew Quattrin, 1 Liam Murray.

Replacements: 16 Foster Dewitt, 17 Djustice Sears-Duru, 18 Cole Keith, 19 Piers Von Dadelszen, 20 Siôn Parry, 21 Travis Larsen, 22 Jason Higgins, 23 Mitch Richardson.hardson.