Zero surprise as Beauden Barrett's revolting gamesmanship goes unpunished
By Rugby Onslaught

Zero surprise as Beauden Barrett’s revolting gamesmanship goes unpunished

This should have been a red card for Beauden Barrett, who was nowhere near catching this ball.

Red card and a penalty try was the right call.

Somehow Matthiey Raynall only penalized it. What a surprise that an All Black megastar gets away with a blatant professional foul that stopped Wales from scoring under the posts.

Presumably it was put into World Rugby’s NZ calculator, so the red card and penalty was reduced to just a penalty. Standard.

One fellow wrote: “I don’t normally talk about sport, but if the Rugby Championship can have a slew of yellow cards for knocking the ball out of play earlier this year, they should have given a yellow card to Beauden Barrett.”

“Should’ve been carded for that slap down in my opinion – very few covering tacklers and it would’ve been a run for the corner. Would’ve taken a lot to catch,” said another.

“Okay so Beauden Barrett is immune to yellow cards,” said another fine Tweeter.

He did score this try, a sneaky intercept, which is a coward’s try if ever there was one.

All Blacks Head Coach Ian Foster said: “It’s a very special time for Beauden and his family and it’s also a special time for this team and its legacy. He’s a big part of this team, he’s a key leader, he’s captained the All Blacks, he’s vice captain on this tour and he’s an influencer on and off the park. I can’t speak more highly about his contribution as a person to the black jersey. The chance to play his 100th Test at this stadium against Wales is really special.”

Joe Moody (54)
Codie Taylor (64)
Nepo Laulala (37)
Brodie Retallick (89)
Samuel Whitelock (128) – captain
Ethan Blackadder (7)
Dalton Papalii (10)
Ardie Savea (56)
TJ Perenara (76)
Beauden Barrett (99)
Rieko Ioane (44)
David Havili (11)
Anton Lienert-Brown (54)
Will Jordan (10)
Jordie Barrett (32)
Samisoni Taukei’aho (7)
Karl Tu’inukuafe (23)
Tyrel Lomax (11)
Tupou Vaa’i (8)
Akira Ioane (10)
Brad Weber (14)
Richie Mo’unga (28)
Sevu Reece (14)