Despicable head butt spotted by Ireland centre against Wales
By Rugby Onslaught

Despicable head butt spotted by Ireland centre against Wales

Head butts are something that are completely inexcusable in rugby but seem to be becoming more and more frequent. While the days of a player completely launching their head into another player’s with the intention of knocking them out or breaking their nose are more or less gone, the act of ramming your head onto another player’s as their square up is by no means out of the game.

This was shown last night in Ireland under-20’s 53-5 win over Wales under-20 in the Six Nations as Musgrave Park, where centre Fionn Gibbons clearly rammed his head into a Welsh player’s. Nothing came of it in the match, but this is something people will want cut out of the game as soon as possible.

Take a look:


IRELAND under-20s: P Campbell (Young Munster); C Mullins (Bristol Bears), F Gibbons (UCD), B Brownlee (Blackrock), S Mallon (UCD); C Tector (Lansdowne), M Devine (Corinthians); J Boyle (UCD), J McCormick (Ballymena), S Wilson (QUB); C O’Tighearnaigh (UCD), M Morrissey (UCD); J McNabney (Ballymena), R Crothers (Ballynahinch, capt), J Culhane (UCD).

Replacements: A King (Clontarf) for Campbell (35 mins); O Michel (Lansdowne) for Boyle (49); E Coughlan (Shannon) for Devine, T Butler (Garryowen) for Tector (both 53); R McGuire (UCD) for Wilson, A McNamee (Malone) for Morrissey (59); R O’Sullivan (Highfield) for McNabney (61); J Hanlon (Ballynahinch) for McCormick (62); Tector for Mullins (HIA, 64); Devine for Tector (73).

Wales under-20s: 15. Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby), 14. Harri Huston (Ospreys), 13. Bryn Bradley (Harlequins), 12. Eddie James (Scarlets), 11. Oli Andrew (Dragons), 10. Daniel Edwards (Ospreys), 9. Harri Williams (Scarlets), 1. Joe Cowell (Cardiff Met), 2. Efan Daniel (Cardiff Rugby), 3. Nathan Evans (Cardiff Rugby), 4. Joe Peard (Dragons), 5. Lewis Jones (Ospreys), 6. Alex Mann (Cardiff Rugby, capt), 7. Ethan Fackrell (Cardiff Rugby), 8. Ben Moa (Dragons).

Replacements: 16. Morgan Vennes (Ealing Trailfinders), 17. Rhys Barratt (Cardiff Rugby), 18. Ellis Fackrell (Ospreys), 19. Benji Williams (Opsreys), 20. Tom Cowan (Bath Rugby), 21. Morgan Lloyd (Dragons), 22. Jac Lloyd (Bristol Bears), 23. Joe Hawkins (Ospreys).