England's next captain all but confirmed after behind the scenes footage
By Rugby Onslaught

England’s next captain all but confirmed after behind the scenes footage

No one really knew who England’s captain was going to be heading into this Autumn Nations Series. With Courtney Lawes out, it made Eddie Jones’ decision in picking Owen Farrell that bit easier, but there were still other candidates. Tom Curry has captained England before, while there are players who have captained at club level.

While Farrell got the nod as captain, Jack Nowell and Ellis Genge have both been named vice-captains, but to many Genge is just the captain in waiting.

The loosehead led Leicester Tigers to the Gallagher Premiership last season, and has been in and around the conversation to lead England since then. He leads by example on the pitch, and has probably been England’s best player since the Australia tour in the summer. Footage of his team talk before the Japan match on Saturday shows that it is just a matter of when he captains England rather than if.

The talk was shared by England online this week in the latest episode ofย o2 Inside Line – The Next Level,ย take a look:

England squad for All Blacks:ย 
Alex Coles (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 39 caps)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 43 caps)
Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 41 caps)
Jamie George (Saracens, 70 caps)
Jonny Hill (Sale Sharks, 17 caps)
Maro Itoje (Saracens, 60 caps)
David Ribbans (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 16 caps)
Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 54 caps)
Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 23 caps)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 66 caps)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 72 caps)
Jack Willis (unattached, 5 caps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens, 99 caps)
Tommy Freeman (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 70 caps)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 43 caps)
Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers, 3 caps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 50 caps)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 15 caps)
Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)
Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 48 caps)
Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 119 caps)