Entire crowd winces as Manu Tuilagi flattens unsuspecting opponent
By Rugby Onslaught

Entire crowd winces as Manu Tuilagi flattens unsuspecting opponent

It is hard to know what is worse for a ball carrier, knowing Manu Tuilagi is about to smash you or to not see it coming. Either way, it is not pleasant.

Leicester Tigers wing Harry Potter experienced the second option on Saturday against Sale Sharks at Welford Road, and the entire crowd cried out in pain. Knowing it’s coming allows the player to brace themself, but equally knowing it’s coming means you know you are about to get smashed by Manu Tuilagi. But Potter did not see it coming as he made a break down the left wing against Sale.

Just a few metres from the line, Sale winger Tom Roebuck managed to slow Potter down, before Tuilagi charged back to cream the Tigers wing. Fair play to him though, as he was not only able to keep hold of the ball, but he could recycle it to allow Jasper Wiese to pick and go from the ruck and score.

This was Tuilagi returning to his old hunting ground, so the Welford Road faithful are well accustomed to some monster hits like that.

Take a look at the Tuilagi tackle:

Leicester Tigers XV:
15 Freddie Steward [58]
14 Harry Potter [44]
13 Matt Scott [49]
12 Jimmy Gopperth [4]
11 Nemani Nadolo [39]
10 Freddie Burns [106]
9 Richard Wigglesworth (vc) [38]
1 James Cronin [4]
2 Julián Montoya [27]
3 Dan Cole (vc) [294]
4 Harry Wells [160]
5 Calum Green [93]
6 George Martin [43]
7 Hanro Liebenberg (c) [63]
8 Jasper Wiese [45]

16 Charlie Clare [56]
17 Nephi Leatigaga [70]
18 Joe Heyes [104]
19 Eli Snyman [22]
20 Olly Cracknell [4]
21 Jack van Poortvliet [51]
22 Phil Cokanasiga [4]
23 Anthony Watson [1]

Sale Sharks XV:
15. Joe Carpenter
14. Tom Roebuck
13. Sam James
12. Manu Tuilagi
11. Tom O’Flaherty
10. Robert du Preez
9. Gus Warr
1. Bevan Rodd
2. Akker van der Merwe
3. Nick Schonert
4. Cobus Wiese
5. Jonny Hill
6. Jono Ross
7. Tom Curry (C)
8. Jean-Luc du Preez

16. Ewan Ashman
17. Simon McIntyre
18. Coenie Oosthuizen
19. Josh Beaumont
20. Sam Dugdale
21. Raffi Quirke
22. Sam Hill
23. Arron Reed