Etzebeth produces his own 'Owen Farrell moment' before All Blacks match
By Rugby Onslaught

Etzebeth produces his own ‘Owen Farrell moment’ before All Blacks match

One of the most legendary images in recent rugby history was the smirk that then England captain Owen Farrell gave the All Blacks during the haka in the 2019 World Cup semi-final. It was the smirk of someone that meant business, and the rest is history as England produced one of their all time best performances.

South Africa’s Eben Etzebeth produced his very own moment like that at the Mbombela Stadium on Saturday during the national anthems, as the Boks went on to produce a similarly dominant display. The camera zoomed in on the lock’s face during the anthem and he produced a smile akin to Farrell’s, which broadcaster Thabiso Sithole said was a sign that the Boks were “leaving no prisoners on the day.”

Sithole wrote this on Twitter after Jared Wright had shared a video of what was an epic rendition the Springboks singing the national anthem.

“Was at this moment the All Blacks’ fate was sealed,” he wrote. “Nobody enjoys that Anthem like Eben Etzebeth & his face will always tell you when the Springboks are leaving no prisoners on the day.”

Wright then went on to share a GIF of that exact moment, and it very much looks like a man hell bent on taking the game to the All Blacks, which the Springboks did as they recorded their biggest victory over New Zealand in 94 years, coming away 26-10 victors.

This was the moment:

Etzebeth is set to start in the second row again this Saturday in the rematch at Ellis Park.

Springbok team to face New Zealand in Johannesburg:
15 – Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers) – 19 caps, 12 pts (1t, 2c, 1p)
14 – Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles) – 52 caps, 60 pts (12t)
13 – Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks) – 29 caps, 25 pts (5t)
12 – Damian de Allende (Wild Knights) – 61 caps, 35 pts (7t)
11 – Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks) – 28 caps, 100 pts (20t)
10 – Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers) – 63 caps, 649 pts (7t, 88c, 141p, 5d)
9 – Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks) – 5 caps, 5 pts (1t)
8 – Duane Vermeulen (Ulster) – 61 caps, 15 pts (3t)
7 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz) – 61 caps, 25 pts (5t)
6 – Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks) – 66 caps, 35 pts (7t)
5 – Lood de Jager (Wild Knights) – 59 caps, 25 pts (5t)
4 – Eben Etzebeth (Cell C Sharks) – 101 caps, 15 pts (3t)
3 – Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers) – 49 caps, 5pts (1t)
2 – Joseph Dweba
1 – Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks) – 10 caps, 0pts

16 – Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears) – 50 caps, 55 pts (11t)
17 – Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers) – 62 caps, 5pts (1t)
18 – Vincent Koch (Wasps) 35 caps, 0 pts
19 – Franco Mostert (Honda Heat) – 54 caps, 5pts (1t)
20 – Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers) – 14 caps, 0 pts
21 – Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs) – 22 caps, 5 pts (1t)
22 – Hershel Jantjies (DHL Stormers) – 22 caps, 25 pts (5t)
23 – Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz) – 75 caps, 65 pts (13t)