Fine incoming as Wallabies disrespect Haka before All Blacks clash
By Rugby Onslaught

Fine incoming as Wallabies disrespect Haka before All Blacks clash

The atmosphere at the Melbourne Cricket Ground was electric ahead of the first Bledisloe Cup Test of the year as the Australia hosted the All Blacks, but that energy might have spilled over into a fine for the hosts.

As the All Blacks performed their Haka ‘Kapa O Pango’ in front of 80,000 people, Wallabies captain Allan Alaalatoa did something that is technically not allowed. The prop advanced towards the Haka and laid a boomerang on the ground. It was a cool message and something that only added to the atmosphere. What was even cooler was that All Blacks captain Ardie Savea went and accepted the boomerang after the Haka.

However, Alaalatoa crossed the halfway line, meaning the Wallabies are in line to be fined. It is one regulation that does not sit well with a lot of fans, as, although it could be deemed disrespectful, very few people would view it that way. Instead, it only added to the occasion and was a classy meeting of two different cultures.

This is what World Rugby say about cultural challenges: “Where only one team is performing a challenge, no player from the team performing the challenge may cross their own 10m line and no player from the team receiving the challenge may cross the halfway line. It is not mandatory for the team receiving the challenge to face it.”

Take a look at the Haka:

The Wallabies entered the match under a lot of pressure having lost their opening two matches of the Rugby Championship against South Africa and Argentina. But head coach Eddie Jones loves an All Blacks match.

Wallabies XV:
1. Angus Bell
2. David Porecki
3. Allan Alaalatoa
4. Nick Frost
5. Will Skelton
6. Jed Holloway
7. Tom Hooper
8. Rob Valetini
9. Tate McDermott
10. Carter Gordon
11. Marika Koroibete
12. Samu Kerevi
13. Jordan Petaia
14. Mark Nawaqanitawase
15. Andrew Kellaway

16. Jordan Uelese
17. James Slipper
18. Taniela Tupou
19. Richie Arnold
20. Rob Leota
21. Nic White
22. Quade Cooper
23. Izaia Perese


All Blacks XV:
1. Ethan de Groot (15)
2. Codie Taylor (78)
3. Tyrel Lomax (25)
4. Brodie Retallick (101)
5. Scott Barrett (60)
6. Shannon Frizell (27)
7. Dalton Papali’i (24)
8. Ardie Savea (72 – captain)
9. Aaron Smith (116)
10. Richie Mo’unga (46)
11. Mark Telea (3)
12. Jordie Barrett (50)
13. Rieko Ioane (61)
14. Will Jordan (22)
15. Beauden Barrett (114)

16. Samisoni Taukei’aho (22)
17. Ofa Tu’ungfasi (51)
18. Nepo Laulala (47)
19. Samuel Whitelock (143)
20. Luke Jacobson (12)
21. Cam Roigard *
22. Anton Lienert-Brown (60)
23. Caleb Clarke (17)