New England coach watches outcasts put in masterclass
By Rugby Onslaught

New England coach watches outcasts put in masterclass

Interim England coach Richard Cockerill was served a treat on Friday night at the Gtech Community Stadium, as Montpellier fought back from 24-6 down to win 32-27.

Not only was the game epic, but two England hopefuls put in great performances in the first game of the post Eddie Jones era. One was uncapped London Irish winger Ollie Hassell-Collins, who might not be on the scoresheet, but looked mightily impressive.

Hassell-Collins put his 100kg frame to good use in the first half, doing almost all the work in creating a try for his fellow wing Lucio Cinti. Take a look:

He also came close to scoring a wonder try late in the game. Take a look:

On the other side, Montpellier No8 Zach Mercer produced a player of the match display. The reigning Top 14 player of the season put in a defensive masterclass in front of Cockerill, who must be licking his lips at the thought of the No8 returning to the Gallagher Premiership next season.

Mercer is currently ineligible to play for England while playing in the Top 14, but his move to Gloucester next year means he will be allowed to play in the World Cup and add even more competition to the England No8 options. Take a look at his game:

London Irish
15. Ben Loader, 14. Lucio Cinti Luna, 13. Will Joseph, 12. Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11. Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10. Paddy Jackson, 9. Ben White, 1. Facundo Gigena, 2. Agustin Creevy, 3. Lovejoy Chawatama, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. Adam Coleman, 6. Matt Rogerson (c), 7. Juan Martin Gonzalez, 8. So’otala Fa’aso’o.
16. Mike Willemse, 17. Danilo Fischetti, 18. Ollie Hoskins, 19. Chunya Munga, 20. Chandler Cunningham-South, 21. Joe Powell, 22. Rory Jennings , 23. Luca Morisi,

15. Anthony Bouthier, 14. Ben Lam, 13. Thomas Darmon, 12. Paolo Garbisi, 11. George Bridge, 10. Louis Carbonel, 9. Cobus Reinach, 1. Enzo Forletta, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 3. Mohamed Haouas, 4. Florian Verhaeghe, 5. Bastien Chalureau, 6. Yacouba Camara (c), 7. Alexandre Becognee, 8. Zach Mercer.
16. Curtis Langdon, 17. George Tuinukuafe, 18. Titi Lamositele, 19. Clement Doumenc, 20. Leo Coly, 21. Julien Tisseron, 22. Masivesi Dakuwaqa, 23. Marco Tauleigne,