Serious World Rugby investigation needed as Fiji robbed of try of year
By Rugby Onslaught

Serious World Rugby investigation needed as Fiji robbed of try of year

We’re not saying the five tries that made the try of the year shortlist this week were not good, but was World Rugby not watching Ireland versus Fiji at the weekend?

Vern Cotter’s side pulled off not one, but two try of the year candidates, but it may have been two late.

Rodrigo Fernández’s try versus the USA was good, so was Lalakai Foketi’s versus France, so was Edoardo Padovani’s versus Wales, so was Chris Harris’ versus Italy and so too was Louis Rees-Zammit’s versus South Africa, but Fiji’s second try at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday had everything.

Fullback Setareki Tuicuvu’s offload to Jiuta Wainiqolo was actually out of this world. With two players tackling him – high and low -, and with his body being twisted around, the one handed offload was world class. From there the run from Wainiqolo was just as good. The winger even topped it off with another one handed pass, this time to Simione Kuruvoli for the try.

Take a look at the try:

Their opening try of the match wasn’t too bad either:

Here were the teams:

Ireland XV
15. Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas) 1 cap
14. Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) 3 caps
13. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 60 caps
12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 7 caps
11. Mack Hansen (Connacht/Corinthians) 7 caps
10. Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 36 caps
9. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 21 caps
1. Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen)*
2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 29 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 61 caps CAPTAIN
4. Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 9 caps
5. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 34 caps
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 21 caps
7. Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 2 caps
8. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 31 caps

16. Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 11 caps
17. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 119 caps
18. Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 3 caps
19. Cian Prendergast (Connacht/Galwegians)*
20. Max Deegan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 1 cap
21. Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 5 caps
22. Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution)*
23. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 45 caps
*denotes uncapped player

Fiji XV
1. Eroni Mawi
2. Sam Matavesi
3. Manasa Saulo
4. Isoa Nasilasila
5. Ratu Leone Rotuisolia
6. Albert Tuisue
7. Levani Botia
8. Viliame Mata
9. Frank Lomani
10. Teti Tela
11. Vinaya Habosi
12. Kalaveti Ravouvou
13. Waisea Nayacalevu
14. Jiuta Wainiqolo
15. Setareki Tuicuvu

16. Mesulame Dolokoto
17. Livai Natave
18. Lee-Roy Atalifo
19. Apisalome Ratuniyarawa
20. John Dyer
21. Simione Kuruvoli
22. Ben Volavola
23. Adrea Cocagi