Adam Hastings delivers final blow to Finn Russell's Scotland career
By Rugby Onslaught

Adam Hastings delivers final blow to Finn Russell’s Scotland career

In a week where there has been plenty of talk and controversy around Gregor Townsend’s decision to drop Finn Russell from the Scotland squad for the autumn, his No10 rival Adam Hastings responded in perfect fashion on Friday night.

The Gloucester fly-half kicked what turned out to be a match-winning monster drop goal from his own half against London Irish at the Gtech Community Stadium on Friday night in the Gallagher Premiership, lifting his side to third in the table.

Gloucester were trailing 21-19 on 62 minutes when the ball fell into Hastings’ hands, and the scores did not change after he delivered the kick. Not a bad way to respond after the Scotland No10 jersey has been much discussed.

“Adam described it as hanging in his interview but I thought it looked pretty good. He’s brilliant,” Gloucester head coach George Skivington said.

“His boot has been really good for us at the start of the season. He’s worked really hard. It was an ugly game.”

Take a look at the kick:

Scotland Autumn Nations Series Squad
Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) 4 caps
Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) 3 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 22 caps
Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 7 caps
Andy Christie (Saracens) 3 caps
Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 23 caps
Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 24 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 50 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 55 caps
Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 69 caps
Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 67 caps
Nick Haining (Edinburgh Rugby) 11 caps
WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 48 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 32 caps
Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 12 caps
Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 22 caps
Rory Sutherland (Ulster Rugby) 20 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 27 caps
Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 51 caps

Mark Bennett (Edinburgh Rugby) 27 caps
Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 29 caps
Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 36 caps
Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby) 26 caps
Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 93 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 17 caps
Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) 4 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 34 caps
Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
Rufus McLean (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 54 caps
Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 2 caps
Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 1 cap
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps
Ross Thompson (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps
Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 7 caps
Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 19 caps
Ben White (London Irish) 6 caps