Super Rugby Aotearoa hype nears melting point - when is it and how can I watch?
By Rugby Onslaught

Super Rugby Aotearoa hype nears melting point – when is it and how can I watch?

It’s back and it’s back in a BIG way as the best of New Zealand battle it out in the second season of Super Rugby Aotearoa.

The first instalment of this new competition was a huge success with the eyes of a locked-down world fixed firmly on New Zealand. Fans couldn’t get enough of the free-flowing – run it from anywhere- style of play that was displayed.

This new season promises more of the same with some of the biggest names on the planet set to face off. Rugby Onslaught gives you the full rundown on all the information you need to know about Super Rugby Aotearoa.

Video Spacer

Video Spacer

When is it?

Super Rugby Aotearoa kicks off this weekend – viewers from all corners of the globe can watch. The tournament will be played for 10 Rounds before a grand final is played out.

Friday 26 February 2021

  • UK/Ireland: 06:05am
  • France: 07.05am
  • South Africa: 08.05am
  • Turkey: 09.05am
  • New Zealand: 19.05pm
  • Australia: 17.05pm

Where can I watch it?

RugbyPass will be streaming all of the Super Rugby Aoteroa games on their website during this new season. You can sign up here 

Who’s playing?

Game 1: Highlanders vs Crusaders

The Crusaders are the hot favourites going into this tournament having swept away the competition in 2020. With star names like Richie Mo’unga and Will Jordan in their ranks – they’ll surely be the side to beat.

watch Mo’unga tearing it up for Crusaders in 2020

Don’t right off the Highlanders though, with Aaron Smith pulling the string at scrum-half – the Dunedin side are not to be underestimated.

Game 2: Hurricanes vs Blues

The Blues are the main challengers to the Crusaders crown this season.

The Auckland-based side boast some of the best All Blacks players on the planet. With the likes of Caleb Clarke, Rieko Ioane and Hoskins Sotutu to call on – the Blues could just end up on top this season.

the Auckland Blues boast one of the most devastating back lines in the world

If you’re after a dark horse for this year’s Super Rugby Aotearoa, you’d do well to back the Hurricanes.

Jordie Barrett, Ardie Savea and Laumape are the standout names in the Wellington outfit that could set the tournament alight this weekend. With home advantage this weekend for the Canes, it’s too close to call.

Laumape was in sensational form against the Blues last season

Who will you be backing in Super Rugby Aotearoa 2021? Let us know in the comments.

In related news

 

ADVERTISEMENT